April and May Book Haul

So as I have said before I am a bit on the cheap side so I will rarely have book hauls. I have however started to loosen the purse strings recently in some areas namely books and Backstreet Boys HA!. Here is a teeny tiny little book haul from April and May.

Last month I went to Barnes and Noble to look for Half of a Yellow Sun by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie but they didn’t have it so instead I picked up Kindred by Octavia Butler. I am most excited about this book. It is unlike anything I have ever read and I may read it this month.

kindred

I have no idea why this photo came out blue.

Dana, a modern black woman, is celebrating her twenty-sixth birthday with her new husband when she is snatched abruptly from her home in California and transported to the antebellum South. Rufus, the white son of a plantation owner, is drowning, and Dana has been summoned to save him. Dana is drawn back repeatedly through time to the slave quarters, and each time the stay grows longer, more arduous, and more dangerous until it is uncertain whether or not Dana’s life will end, long before it has a chance to begin. synopsis from Goodreads

haul1

The Undomestic Goddess by Sophie Kinsella

I bought this at a thrift store it is in excellent condition. I have wanted to read this for about a year and I look for it every time I go to a used book or thrift store. I have read two other Kinsella’s and they were both really funny. I expect this to be funny as well and really a light read that I can finish up in just a couple of days.

A Deep Dark Secret by Kimberla Lawson Roby

This will be my first Lawson. I have seen a lot about her books especially her Rev Curtis Black series but I have never run across one. I actually picked this up at Big Lot’s for $3.00. I really love deep dark secrets so the title got me.

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

To be honest I never thought about reading this book until I started reading book blogs and watching book vlogs. I keep hearing how great the book is so I picked it up. I don’t know that I will be reading it anytime soon but I will shoot for this year.

Pigs Have Wings by P.G. Wodehouse

I had never heard of Wodehouse until I watched Lesley at Words Of A Reader on YouTube she is st the top of my favorite booketube list.. She often talks about his Jeeves series and how amazing it is. So I saw this and picked it up solely based on Lesley. I didn’t even read the back of the book so I have no idea what it’s about. I know two things it’s not a Jeeves book but, it is a part of another series.

Allrighty that is all for now.

Until Next Time

 

Leave a Reply

