Top Ten Tuesday

toptentuesday

Click the pic to visit The Broke and the Bookish

 

This is a weekly meme brought to you by the ladies at The Broke and the Bookish go check them out participate, comment generally have a great time.

This weeks topic is

Top Ten Books Dealing With Tough Subjects (abuse, suicide, grief etc or something personal hard for you)

I couldn’t come up with ten so here are my top 8

As usual these are in no particular order.

The Warmth of other Suns by Isabel Wilkerson

I read this last month and I still find myself thinking about it at random times. It deals with the great migration and the era of Jim Crow. It hit very close to home because my paternal grandparents were a part of the migration.

Squalor, New Mexico by Lisette Brodey

This has depression, sexual abuse, rape,family secrets, family fighting. I think that about covers all the tough subjects right? I know it sounds depressing but it was actually really funny and smart and had a great protagonist.

The Killers Cousin Nancy Werlin

I read this years ago and it was so creepy. A young man is accused of causing his girlfriends death and he moves to another town with his aunt, uncle and cousin. They have had a death in their family that is “suspicious”  and there is some possible mental illness going on. The whole thing creeped me out in the best possible way.

The Girl Who Fell From The Sky by Heidi W.Durrow

A young girl is sent to live with her grandmother after a tragic accident that takes the lives of  her mother and 2 siblings. But, of course there is more to the story also mental illness/depression which apparently I love to read about.

Like Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen

I gotta be honest the parts about the elephant were really bad. I don’t want to spoil anything but when something happens to an animal even fictional I have a hard time reading or watching it.  And, for some reason reading about things like domestic abuse are harder than watching a movie about it, I can’t explain why.

Flowers in the Attic V.C Andrews

Secret kids hidden in an attic and incest nuff said.

All Around the Town Mary Higgins  Clark

I have read almost all of her books and this one is the most disturbing one, more so than the one where the guy would dance with the dead bodies. A girl is kidnapped and then sexually abused and there is a scene with a decapitated chicken and ew.

Molokai by Alan Brennert

A young girl is ripped from her family and forced to live on another island while she deals with a disease that is going to disfigure her and is ultimately supposed to kill her.  Sounds like the most depressing book of all time right? Well somehow it wasn’t. I cried my eyes out with this book and it was difficult to read but it was also beautiful.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

