Bout Of Books Wrap-Up

So I participated in the Bout of Books Read-A-Thon this last week and boy did I stink.

BoB7_0-200x200-old

I am definitely not someone who takes myself very seriously and I don’t put pressure on myself when it comes to reading goals. However I did really want to get some reading done during this read-a-thon and well I did OK but I didn’t reach my goal.

Why didn’t I reach my goal? The short answer is The Backstreet Boys! It just so happened that a ton of stuff was going on with them during this read-a-thon. They released tour dates and the tickets went on sale, they debuted their new single on GMA which is awesome. Listen to it here. And well I just got caught up in all the BSB excitement and I didn’t do as much reading early in the week because of it. Okay,okay I fangirled. I fangirled HARDCORE people. It wasn’t pretty but it happened and my reading suffered because of it

I also realized some things about how I read.

1. If I write it down or say I’m going to read it I wont want to read it.

I did read 2 of the 5 books I said I would but the other 3 I kind of lost interest in.  I decided instead to pick a random book I had just purchased and read it in one day.

2.I’m not so social

Well to be fair I already knew that but it really came through. I was going to try to push myself to interact but I didn’t. Again I can blame the Backstreet Boys but you know that’s probably not fair.

So here is what I did.

I finished Night Swimming and I even reviewed it here. It was just ok but enjoyable enough.

I started and finished The Color Purple which I haven’t reviewed but I loved/hated I can’t explain it right now. It’s complicated

I started and finished A Deep Dark Secret by Kimberla Lawson Roby which was under 200 pages.  It was really fast paced and kept me engaged. It was the first book I’ve picked up of hers but it won’t be the last. Review coming soon.

I guess 3 out of 5 isn’t bad.

Over all I think it was a good experience because it let me know what I need to do in the future if I participate in Bout of Books 8.0 wich is being held August 19th to 25th.

If you are interested in participating next time click the picture at the top of the page to check out the blog. They will be giving some more info in the coming months about 8.0. Follow the blog so you can stay up to date.

 

Until Next Time

KTBSPA!!

2 thoughts on “Bout Of Books Wrap-Up

    • Me too I think that is why I didn’t do as well as I would have liked. Next time I will just decide on the number of books and pick up whatever I feel like reading at the time.

Leave a Reply

