Top Ten Tuesday

It’s that time of the week Top Ten Tuesday brought to you by the Broke and The Bookish click here to check out what their Top Ten  Beach  Reads are

Top Ten Beach Reads

I don’t often go to the beach seeing as how I live in the desert but, we did have this water park called  The Beach that went out of business about 6 years ago. The owners mismanaged funds so yeah. But I digress..

Here are my top Ten Beach Reads click on the each book  title  to find out more

As usual in no particular order

10. Confessions of  a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

So cute an fun and laugh out loud funny

9.Remember Me by Sophie Kinsella

Not as funny as Shopaholic but just as sweet and fun

8. Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin

I love this book it’s so wrong because I root for the cheaters but yeah I love it.

7. Anything by Mary-Higgins Clark

I know these are murder mystery’s but they are really light. I just feel like I should read these on vacation.

6. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

This is going down as one of my favorite books EVER! Could there be a better way to enjoy this book about teen beauty pageant contestants that crash on a desert island than by reading it on a beach?  Umm no the answer is no.

5. Bubbles Unbound (Bubbles Yablonsky Series book #1) By Sarah Strohmeyer

 Very light reading with no message or serious events. It’s all fun, outrageous, silly hijinks and just enough of a mystery to keep you engaged.

4. Social Crimes and One Dangerous Lady (Jo Slater series) by Jane Stanton Hitchcock)

I actually listened to both of these in audio format and the narrator just made them even better.  These books are about Jo Slater who is the definition of a socialite until her husband dies and leaves all the money to  a younger woman. Jo falls far and,wants revenge so, she goes after the woman who destroyed her perfect life.  These books are snarky, witty, and funny also nothing gets too serious so they remain fun.

3. The Agatha Raisin books by M.C Beaton

I love everything about these books. They are set in the English Cotswolds and revolve around a sleepy little English village. They all contain a murder that needs solving and Agatha always wants to solve it but they are more than that. The people who live in the village are recurring characters and add so much color to the stories. I don’t think I will ever get tired of this series.

2.  The Goldy Bear series By Diane Davidson-Mott

I feel the same about these books as I do  the Agatha Raisin books. There isn’t anything deep or profound here but they are very funny and entertaining. Plus these contain recipes for all the food mentioned in the book (Goldy is a caterer)

1. Bridget Jones Diary by Helen Fielding

I feel like I should read this book either during Christmas or in the middle of summer. I think that’s because of the movie but either way it’s an excellent light summer read.

Yes I know I cheated by using a couple of series but I cheat it’s a thing I do so get used to it.

Until Next Time

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Oh yeah nothing heavy but easy to get into.I haven’t read any of her new ones in about 2 years or so but I know they are always there when I need a quick fun read with a touch of mystery.

  1. How could I forget Beauty Queens? Great choice. I rewatch the Bridget Jones Diary movie once a year or so, but it’s been a while since I’ve read the book. It is a fun and fast read though, perfect for summer. Great picks!

  2. I love Sophie Kinsella and am so glad to see Remember Me? on your list. That books is just so funny and really a perfect beach read. I also had Bridget Jones’s Diary on my list because it is one of the funniest books of all time.

    • I laughed out loud so many times while reading Bridget Jones. I am planning on reading The Edge of Reason soon I hope it’s justg as good. So far I have loved Sophie Kinsella she has a way of writting that is so engaging

Leave a Reply

