Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme created by the lovely ladies over at The Broke and The Bookish

They create a topic and we create a top ten list to accompany it.

This weeks top ten is

Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer TBR

So the thing is I don’t do well with TBR lists. I almost never know what I want to read next I just go with the flow. But these are books I have been wanting to read for so long. Well all of them except the 1st one on the list, it’s brand new.

10. Me and Mr. Darcy By Alexandra Potter

This one is on the list for Austen in August. Fingers crossed it will be good.

9. The Impeachment of Abraham Lincoln By Stephen L. Carter

This was also on my spring TBR list and it hasn’t happened yet. This book re-imagines Lincolns story if he survived the assassination attempt.  President Lincoln faces an impeachment trial and, is being defended by a young black woman. Yeah I know sounds amazing. The thing about Carter is he packs a ton on information into his books and you really have to pay attention or, you get lost.

8. Jubilee By Margaret Walker

This isn’t exactly light summer reading, it’s actually kind of heavy. This is the story of Margaret Walkers great-grandmother Vyry the child of a white plantation owner and his black mistress. It’s nearly 500 pages long so it’s quite an undertaking. I hope to get to it soon.

7. Their Eyes Were Watching God By Zora Neale Hurston

This is a definite read this summer. I am scared of this book because it s so hyped in my mind. If I love it then great but, I am so scared it wont live up to the hype and then I will be sad.

6.  A Raisin In The Sun By Lorraine Hansberry

I’ve seen the movie but never read the book. I missed out on a lot of these books that came out in the 70’s and 80’s because I was too young to really know about them. Then I ended up seeing all the movies and just forgetting about the books. I am trying to make up for lost book time now.

5. To Be Young, Gifted, And Black By Lorraine Hansberry

There is a movie about Lorraine in the works and I need to read this before that comes out.

4. Emma By Jane Austen

I started reading this about 2 years ago then I moved and lost the book in the process. I will probably read this for Austen in August.

3. 32 Candles By Ernessa T. Carter

On the surface it looks like chick-lit but I have heard it’s got more depth. I can’t find this in any book store near me so I am going to have to order it soon.

2. Half Of A Yellow Sun By Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

This is another one about to be made into a movie with Thandie Newton and, Chiwetel Ejiofor so of course I will be watching it. Even if it wasn’t going to be a movie I would want to read it. I have heard so many wonderful things about Adichie that I want to read all of her books.

1. Mo’ Meta Blues: The World According To Questlove By Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson

16131189

OK I had to put the cover cuz it’s so awesome! I am beyond excited about this book. It comes out Tuesday 6/18  and it will literally be the first book I have ever purchased the day it came out.  I love Questlove, I love The Roots . This is Questlove talking about his life, celebrity’s he’s encountered, and general amazingness! I mean it’s Questlove what else would you expect?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

